Philips Fidelio SoundRing wireless speaker DS3881W with AirPlay is rated 2.8 out of 5 by 25.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing sound. Perfect for parties. The sound is incredible, even at high volumes (and it gets LOUD). The battery life is great and the fact that you can use airplay and hand off DJing duties at a party between all your friends with iTunes is awesome.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sound is great Tends to open on my phone two or three times and I can't close all of them out.Sound is great.Hard to use and figure it out
Date published: 2013-04-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The sound was great when it worked, but... As mentioned elsewhere, the battery has failed after 12 months and four days of use. The warranty period is 12 months, so I am out of luck. When the product worked, the sound was excellent, but I had to reboot the device at least twice a week. I am looking for a replacement, but it will not be with Philips.
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Buy it if the router is close to the soundring Sounds ok and looks good but airplay works perfectly only if is very close to the router though. If is a room away, the sound drops very often. Have this in mind if you plan to buy it.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Failed after 13 months Great design, poorly built. Streaming cuts out continually with iPad running 6.0.1. Will not hold a charge after 12 months of use. Replacement parts are not available. I do not recommend this product. You are better off taking the money you would spend on it, putting it in the street and setting fire to it.
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful Sound, Easy Set Up These speakers have great sound--very nice throughout the sonic range--and an elegant look. Set up was simple (I've done it with two routers now and no problems). The only reason I did not give it an excellent is that I cannot get the Aux input to work. AirPlay works fine, iPhone USB cable works fine, but I cannot get the Aux cable to work
Date published: 2012-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Airplay portable speaker with amazing sound Wasn't sure how this little speaker was going to sound but have been pleasantly surprised. The sound is amazingly clear and crisp. Acoustic notes are as if the person were playing in the room. Vocals blow you away. Full sound enhancement makes a huge difference when you are playing compressed song from IPod and computers which is about all we play now. The speaker does not produce the bass of a sub-woofer but it is a whole lot smaller. It fills our bedroom with immense sound and is portable to take into the bathroom to listen to while showering. Battery life is about 5-6 hours depending on the volume of the speaker. Airplay works like a charm and was not that hard to set up. There is a slight delay but not that annoying to warrant complaints. I have not experienced any dropping of songs; even when playing songs off my IPad through Amazon Cloud Player. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a portable Airplay speaker.
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No problems here The sound quality is surprisingly good. Bear in mind the sound is good for what it is, a portable little speaker. You cannot expect true surround sound from a single speaker, but the sound does really fill any room. That said, this speaker is perfectly suitable for everyday listening to music, movies, internet radio/podcasts and the like. In fact, this product is excellent for everyday listening. No need for dedicated speakers anywhere in your house. If you want to listen to music while you shower, just lift this thing off its dock since it has an internal rechargeable battery and carry it into the restroom. If you want to listen while you cook, it's the same deal. It's really a liberating little system. You will get "listenable" quality without a whole network of speakers or a mess of wires. The convenience is great. And no need for a special USB stick or anything since it operates via Wi-Fi. You can take it anywhere within Wi-Fi reach and it also has aux in on the ring itself. That is awesome. The biggest downside is compatibility. The are updating the mobile app regularly, but I haven't got it working well. That's a bummer. You will need to be tech savvy enough to get this speaker working for many applications. Native Airplay is great, however. This speaker has dropped the connection maybe once or twice in almost a month of relatively heavy use, and that was during heavy traffic on my router. I think the complaints about the connection dropping are probably highly specific to the individual user's setup. Especially the router. So your mileage may vary, but if you have a quality router you may not encounter these problems (also this is as of December 2012, so maybe some underlying issues with Airplay have been fixed).
Date published: 2012-12-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Drops off wireless network all the time I've had this product for about six months, and I find that it's very unreliable on the wireless network. I've seen the notes from Philips customer support that it's an iOS issue, but I have the same problem if I'm streaming to it from iTunes on OS X 10.7.5. I get about ten minutes of music, then there are dropouts, and finally it disappears altogether and I have to reboot. Then sometimes it won't show up at all. Just very unreliable and disappointing. The sound is great and if it would only stay connected I'd be very happy.
Date published: 2012-11-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Streaming continually drops out Looks great, unfortunately if you get > 10 minutes continuous streaming to it you'll be very lucky. Continual dropouts and stuttering. This is from both a 5.1.1 iphone 4s, 5.1.1 ipad and from itunes.
Date published: 2012-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Cool Product! The first time I saw this product on the web, I wanted one. Finally snagged it while purchasing a new MacBook at the local Apple store. Works better than advertised. After reading through the setup documentation, it took all of ten minutes to get the SoundRing connected to my network. I can now send music to it from my iPhone, iPad, iMac, or MacBook.... but not all at the same time! Looking forward to picking up another one. Would be interesting to see if Phillips and Airplay will support stereo separation with two SoundRngs someday.
Date published: 2012-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the sound and design Received speaker as a Christmas present while out of town. Worked great on hotel wifi and again on wifi at home. Played continuously on both wifis. Fairly easy to setup. Excellent sound for the price and design is elegant.
Date published: 2012-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great as advertised I got this for Christmas, and have had no issues. Just follow the instructions. It was easy to connect to my network, and preforms quite well. If you have areas in your house where there is minimal network connectivity you might have an issue in those spots.
Date published: 2012-01-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Drops out after 5 seconds I loved this for the three weeks that it worked. Now it simply drops out after 5 seconds of playback. Philips site says this is a known issue, but no hint of a resolution. I would not recommend to anyone.
Date published: 2012-01-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from When it works it's great Sounds great. Looks great. Airplay constantly drops outs when playing from iPad 1, iPad 2 and all iPhones to the point it is unusable with any of these mobile devices. I bought this speaker to use with iPads & iPhones. It drops out ten times during a single song. Which is very strange behavior since Airplay works flawlessly from iMac, MacPro, and MacBook Pro. Please fix this issue.
Date published: 2012-01-06