Philips Young Investigator Research Award

About the award


This year marks the 10th anniversary of the research grant sponsored by Philips Oral Healthcare and offered through the IADR Periodontal Research Group. The goal of the grant is to provide seed funding for a postdoctoral student/staff member who is within 12 months of successfully completing a Ph.D. at the time of the submission deadline, and wishes to establish an independent program of research.


The research proposal must have a clinical theme in line with Philips Oral Healthcare's desire to support and promote clinical research. The main judging criteria are relevance/importance and scientific quality, but an upward moderation applies for intercontinental collaborative applications.

IADR logo
Kristina Bertl, Doctor of Philosophy at Medical University of Vienna

Simone Marconcini,

Doctor of Philosophy in Nanotechnology

The University of Genova

This year’s winner


The 2018 recipient of the International Association for Dental Research (IADR)/Philips Oral Healthcare Young Investigator Research Grant is Dr. Simone Marconcini, on his project Relationship between human periodontitis and type 2 diabetes at a genomic level: a data-mining study.


Simone Marconcini is a  Doctor of Philosophy in Nanotechnology at the University of Genova, MSc in Bone Reconstruction, award-winning specialist in oral surgery and implantology (University of Pisa) with over 10 years’ experience of scientific research in oral health.


Previous winners