HHS Approves Eight More State Health Exchanges

January 09, 2013


Eight more states have been conditionally approved to provide health exchanges under the Affordable Care Act.  The Department of Health and Human Services announced January 3, 2013, that California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, New Mexico, Vermont, and Utah were conditionally approved to operate state-based exchanges, and Arkansas was conditionally approved to operate an exchange in partnership with the federal government. This brings to 20 the number of states that have been conditionally approved to partially or fully run their marketplaces.


Under the Affordable Care Act, consumers and small businesses will have access to these new marketplaces for health insurance coverage in each state starting in 2014.


Click to view HHS news release