IADR award
awards masthead

Philips Young Investigator Research Award

About the award


This year marks the 10th anniversary of the research grant sponsored by Philips Oral Healthcare and offered through the IADR Periodontal Research Group. The goal of the grant is to provide seed funding for a postdoctoral student/staff member who is within 12 months of successfully completing a Ph.D. at the time of the submission deadline, and wishes to establish an independent program of research.


The research proposal must have a clinical theme in line with Philips Oral Healthcare's desire to support and promote clinical research. The main judging criteria are relevance/importance and scientific quality, but an upward moderation applies for intercontinental collaborative applications.

IADR logo
Kristina Bertl, Doctor of Philosophy at Medical University of Vienna

Sing-Wai Wong ,

Doctor of Philosophy, National Institutes of Health/University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

This year’s winner


Dr. Sing-Wai Wong received a dental degree from the Jinan University (China) and a M.S. in Prosthodontics from the Peking University (China). Dr. Wong received his Ph.D. from the National Institutes of Health and the University of North Carolina (UNC) under a dual-mentorship of Dr. Jennifer Martinez (NIEHS/NIH) and Dr. Ching-Chang Ko (UNC). Dr. Wong successfully defended his doctoral thesis entitled “The Role of Autophagy Machinery in Osteoclast Disease Pathogenesis” in 2019. Dr. Wong is currently a second year resident in periodontology program at UNC and is studying the molecular mechanisms that underlie periodontal inflammation.


Previous winners

You are about to visit a Philips global content page

Back to top

You are about to visit a Philips global content page


Our site can best be viewed with the latest version of Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome or Firefox.